Moving Beyond the Penalty Box

The publication of my “The Penalty Box” post created a stir and led others to alternately encourage or discourage the creation of this photoblog to highlight the good, the bad, and the downright awful prayer spaces that Muslim women and their children encounter in our communities. I’m open to suggestions, receiving pictures and stories of prayer spaces, and all constructive feedback. Two reminders that I hold dear to my heart:

The Prophet (sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam): β€œNone of you truly believes, until you love for your brother what you love for yourself.”

and

Margaret Mead: “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.”

3 Comments on “Moving Beyond the Penalty Box”

  1. um omar says:

    Assalamu alaykum,

    I know one worse than this in Amman. I will try to get a picture of it if I can. They (you know who) will freak if they see me trying to get a shot of it. Ha ha. Once I prayed outside the box and folks were carrying on, but I just kept praying. Alhamdulillah.

  2. UmmFarouq says:

    Yeah, Um Omar, isn’t is sad when there is a better musallah for the women in a CHICKEN RESTAURANT (Tazaj on Gardens St.) than there is in an actual house of worship?
    Thanks, sister, for blogging about this.

  3. Ify Okoye says:

    Um Omar, do show, in sha Allah πŸ™‚

    Umm Farouq: Very sad, indeed. You’re welcome.


Leave a Reply

